DIRECTORS OF THE USCS AND THE FMCS*

Directors of U.S. Conciliation Service, U.S. Dept. of Labor

Name	Years	Appointed by	Remarks
Hugh L. Kerwin	1917 to 1937	Secy. Wilson	20 years (died in office)
John R. Steelman	6-21-37 to 11-25-44	Secy. Perkins	7 yrs, 5 mos. (resigned)
Howard T. Colvin	11-25-44 to 9-23-45	acting director	10 months
Edgar L. Warren	9-23-45 to 8-21-47	Secy. Schwellenbach	1 yr,11 mos. USCS ended

Note on USCS Directors:

When the U.S. Department of Labor was created in 1913, DOL was authorized to mediate labor-management disputes. For the next several years, staff members from other Departmental Divisions were assigned to mediate a limited number of cases. By 1917, the demand for mediation had grown as a result of the World War. To address that need, the United State Conciliation Service (USCS) was established within DOL with its own budget and staff. During the 30-year history of USCS, the first two Directors, during their 27-year tenure, established the practice of mediation. For more on USCS, see several articles under the "Paper" button on this site.

FRIENDS OF FMCS HISTORY

Directors of the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service

Name	Years	Appointed by	<u>Remarks</u>
Cyrus S. Ching	9-5-47 to 9-30-52	Pres. Truman	5 yrs.
David L. Cole	10-1-52 to 4-30-53	Pres. Truma	n 6 mos. (not Confirmed by Senate)
Clyde M. Mills	5-1-53 to 7-16-53	Pres. Eisenhower	2.5 mos. (Acting Dir.)
Whitney P. McCoy	7-17-53 to 11-30-54	Pres. Eisenhower	1 yr. 4 mos.
Clyde M. Mills	12-1-54 to 2-6-55	Pres. Eisenhower	2 mos.
Joseph F. Finnegar	n 2-7-55 to 12-60	Pres. Eisenhower	5 yrs. plus
William E. Simkin	3-31-61 to 1-31-69	Pres. Kennedy	7 yrs 10 mos.
J. Curtus Counts	3-17-69 to 2-15-73	Pres. Nixon	3 yrs
William J. Usery	3-29-73 to 3-76	Pres. Nixon	3 yrs.
James F. Scearce	4-26-76 to 4-77	Pres. Ford	1 yr.
Wayne L. Horvitz	5-10-77 to 1-1-81	Pres. Carter	3 yrs. 7 mos.
Kenneth Moffett	1-2-81 to	Acting Dir.	1 yr.

FRIENDS OF FMCS HISTORY					
	1-11-82 1-12-82 to 7-21-82	Pres. Reagan	6 mos. (recess appt.)		
Kay McMurray	7-22-82 to 1-31-89	Pres. Reagan	6 yrs. 5 mos.		
Robert Baker	2-1-89 to 5-15-90	Acting Dir.	1 yr. 3 mos.		
Bernard DeLury	5-15-90 to 9-93	Pres. Bush	3 yrs. 4 mos.		
Brian Flores	9-93 to 11-93	Acting Dir.	2 mos.		
John C. Wells	11-93 to 4-98	Pres. Clinton	4 yrs, 5 mos.		
C. Richard Barnes	4-98 to	Acting Dir.	1 yr. 8 mos.		
	1-00 1-00 to 7-02	Pres. Clinton	2 yr. 7 mos.		
Peter J. Hurtgen	8-02 to 12-04	President Bush	2 yrs. 4 mos		
Scot Beckenbaugh	1-05 1-06	Acting Dir.	1 yr.		
Arthur F. Rosenfeld	1-06 8-06 1-21-09	Pres. Bush Pres. Bush	(recess appt.) (with confirmation) 3 yrs,		
Scot Beckenbaugh	1-21-09 10-8, 09	Acting Dir.	9 months		
George H. Cohen	10-8-09 12-13	Pres. Obama	4 yrs, 2 mons.		

FRIENDS OF FMCS HISTORY

Scot Beckenbaugh 1-1-14

Acting Director

Note on FMCS Directors:

By 2014, the FMCS had existed more than twice as long as USCS. During those 67-years, the FMCS Directorship changed hands 24 times. The vast majority of Directors were appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. Six others served as Acting Director for a combined total of six-years (Mills, Moffett, Baker, Flores, Barnes, and Beckenbaugh). The latter is currently serving for the third time as Acting Director. Of the 19 Directors appointed by a President, seven were appointed by a Democratic President and 12 were appointed by a Republican President. Two of the Directors appointed by a President had served as FMCS mediators (Moffett and Barnes). The longest serving Director was William Siimkin (7 years and 10 months). The second longest serving was Director Kay McMurray (6 years and 5 months). All Directors and Acting Directors have been white males.

*Data compiled by: Jerome T. Barrett, EdD.
Friends of FMCS History
200 N. Maple Ave. Suite 212
Falls Chuch, VA 22046